Rust proofing treatment

Metropolitan Rust Proofing

Our product

Effective, proven and non-dripping

Our product is enriched with anticorrosive ingredients and does not drip after the treatment. The product forms a protective gel by creating a barrier against moisture which contributes to rust development. It penetrates the smallest corners of the metal for complete and solid protection. Since 1976, our product has undergone several studies to make it better.

 

The benefits

  • Non dripping
  • Effective, adherent, clean and guaranteed
  • Neutralizes pollutants’ corrosive effects
  • Protects all vehicles, new and used
  • Seeps into every nook and cranny, crack and fold in metal
  • Can be applied any time, any season, and be equally effective
  • Prevents existing rust from settling in and spreading, and new rust formation

Our application technique

 

A unique expertise in Quebec

To provide maximum protection for your vehicle, rust proofing must be performed once every year. Also, the quality of the application is just as important as the product itself. Every area that needs protection must be treated using the best tools and techniques. Over the course of its many years of experience, Metropolitan Rust Proofing has developed solid expertise in its treatment application techniques. All this thanks to some 200 employees who put together their knowledge and experience through our Operations department. This department strives year after year to optimize our application techniques according to every vehicle model’s specific needs. This results in «state-of-the-art tools», like our unique drilling manual which holds every vehicle make, model and year with specific areas to drill holes to be able to properly inject our product.

Our treatment

The rust proofing product application time takes between 35 to 45 minutes. In times of high production, this time can be reduced by the number of employees working simultaneously on your vehicle. During winter, it takes approximately an hour to allow us to de-ice and dry your vehicle.

PREPARATION de-icing and/or drying APPLICATION Exterior hand wash Returning the vehicle
         
A visual inspection of the vehicle is completed and the access points are created in strategic locations. We affix a treatment sticker of the current year certifying that the vehicle is protected. In case of rain or snow, industrial dryers are used to dry the vehicle before the product is applied. This will improve the infiltration of our antirust product. Pressure spray guns are used to ensure uniform application of the product and in order to protect hard-to-reach areas. The exterior of the vehicle is hand washed. After a brief inspection of your vehicle, we offer certain recommendations and warnings before you leave.

Our treatment

PREPARATION

A visual inspection of the vehicle is completed and the access points are created in strategic locations. We affix a treatment sticker of the current year certifying that the vehicle is protected.

 

DE-ICING AND/OR DRYING

In case of rain or snow, industrial dryers are used to dry the vehicle before the product is applied. This will improve the infiltration of our antirust product.

 

APPLICATION

Pressure spray guns are used to ensure uniform application of the product and in order to protect hard-to-reach areas.

 

EXTERIOR HAND WASH

The exterior of the vehicle is hand washed.

 

RETURNING THE VEHICULE

After a brief inspection of your vehicle, we offer certain recommendations and warnings before you leave.

 

Drilling

 

Why ?

Our technicians drill access points in strategic locations (bottom of doors, rocker panels and rear fenders) only during the first treatment. These access points allow us to introduce the product to reach and protect hard-to-reach areas. Thus, we prevent rust from developing in enclosed areas. After the treatment, each access point is coated with our rust protection, then covered with a black plug.

Treatment points

  1. Front and rear wheel wells and fenders
  2. The entire undercarriage
  3. Front and rear bumpers
  4. Fuel tank flap (if applicable)
  5. Hinges
  6. Interior of door bottoms
  7. Rocker panels
  8. Trunk lid
  9. Hood
  10. Engine compartment
Metropolitan Rust Proofing - Treatment Points
Metropolitan Rust Proofing - Accident

You had an accident ?

If you have an accident with your vehicle in the year following one of our treatments, we will treat the damaged parts again for free.

Recommendations and caution

 
RECOMMENDATIONS CAUTION
It is important to wax your vehicle once or twice a year and wash it regularly. Protect your vehicle every year and make paint touch-ups when needed. In winter, during mild weather, remove snow and salt build-up around fenders. Pay attention to the rear spoiler, the vibration of the spoiler may cause friction and lead to paint chipping, and corrosion in the long run. Repair any damage immediately and install gasket if needed. Tires may be slippery for a few kilometres. For a short period of time, you might experience some smoke along with an odour of heated oil coming from the exhaust system. Also, if you need to open your trunk or hood, be careful, product may ooze a little.

Frequently asked questions

The rust phenomenon

How does rust form?
For rust to form, three things are needed: iron contained in metal, water and oxygen from the air. While oxygen is always present, steel does not rust when the air is dry. If steel sheds water quickly, the corrosion doesn’t have time to form, but if metal retains moisture, it rusts. In addition, when steel is subjected to physical stress, such as sudden temperature changes, vibrations, etc., vulnerable areas can form that make iron more likely to rust.

Is rust always visible?
No. It begins as a microscopic form that is not visible to the naked eye. When it appears it is too late to act. Also, don’t forget about all the hidden areas of your car where rust can develop without you knowing: door panels and hood, rear fenders, frame, uprights and rocker panels. For these reasons, it is important to treat your car once a year to prevent rust from forming.

What are the main factors that contribute to rust?
There are elements that can accelerate the development of corrosion:

  • Salt and calcium, which increase the conductivity of the water;
  • Air pollution and acid rain are very corrosive. As well, our air contains many more gases than it did 50 years ago, like sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide. This is why our cars rust more than our grandparents’ vehicles did.
  • Sudden temperature changes, especially when cool or cold weather becomes warm and humid. Actually, heat expands metal, which then allows the ambient or projected humidity to embed itself more easily into steel pores. Contrary to popular belief, metal rusts in hot weather, not in winter. However, winter prepares the ground for the forming of vehicle corrosion with snow, mud, salt and calcium, and especially when wheels throw these materials violently at the undercarriages of cars and trucks.

How and where does rust attack a vehicle and why should it be treated with rust proofing every year?

  • The assembly of a car or truck promotes the formation of rust. While it’s assembled, the parts of a vehicle suffer no less than 1500 folds and rivet points. This shaping damages the vehicle’s original rust proofing, which leads to the formation of rust. In addition, to offer their vehicles at a lower cost, manufacturers often use cheaper alloys that are lighter, but also more vulnerable to rust. For these reasons, if you have just purchased a new vehicle we recommend that it be treated immediately , even if the manufacturer guarantees it against rust. The corrosion will have no chance to settle, and you will benefit from our lifetime warranty against rust.
  • A car has many concealed corners...where moisture still manages to settle! For example, this is true of the inside of doors or the hood, where water gets trapped without being able to evaporate. Fortunately, Metropolitan Rust Proofing treats these fragile areas and all others, like the rear fender, the doors and rocker panels.
  • During winter, the undercarriages of cars are frequently subjected to harsh attacks from sand, salt and calcium being thrown by the wheels. In addition to being rust accelerants, these materials can even damage the best rust proofing, even yours. Because of the climate we live in, it is important to treat your car once a year.
RUST PROOFING TREATMENT

Why should I treat my car once a year?
Our climate is so harsh that most rust proofing products lose their effectiveness over time. The salt and calcium dumped on roads during winter, as well as sand and dust can damage the protective anticorrosion coating, which eventually leave certain parts of the vehicle unprotected.

Should I protect my new vehicle against rust?
Yes, as soon as possible. This will prevent the corrossion process from starting.

I have a used vehicle. Is it necessary to protect it against rust?
Yes, as soon as possible. Even if your vehicle is a little rusty, our rust proofing treatment will greatly slow down the progression of existing rust.

Is Metropolitan’s rustproofing treatment guaranteed?
Yes, garantees free of charge are available for new and used vehicles. The warranty for used vehicles is available only if your vehicle is in good condition, with less than three years of age and less than 60 000 km. One of our experts will need to inspect your vehicle before granting the guarantee.

Can the rustproofing treatment remove existing rust?
Our rustproofing product can not remove existing rust, but it may slow its progression and prevent new rust from forming.

What is the rustproofing process?
Voir la section «Our treatment».

Why do you drill holes and can they rust?
See «Drilling» section in our website.

How long does it take for the application of the rust proofing treatment?
It generally takes between 35 to 45 minutes. In times of high production, product application time can be reduced by the number of employees working simultaneously on your vehicle. During winter, it takes approximately an hour to allow us to de-ice and dry your vehicle.

Do I drive on sandy roads after getting my car rustproofed?
No, avoid sandy roads for at least 24 to 48 hours. Earth, sand and dust will create a crust in certain areas and absorb the product, which will reduce efficiency.

Is your rustproofing treatment compatible with my hybrid or electric vehicle?
Yes, we protect many electric and hybrid vehicles annually against rust. There is no contraindication against rust regarding our product with these types of vehicles.

My vehicle is freshly painted or had a few paint touch-ups, should I wait before my rust proofing treatment?
Yes, if there is fresh paint on your vehicle, you must wait at least a week before proceeding to your rust proofing treatment.

TEMPERATURE

What is the best time to protect my vehicle against rust?
Anytime. The treatment is effective for one year.

Can I protect my vehicle against rust during the winter time?
Yes. We first proceed to a high pressure rinse to de-ice your vehicle. We then dry your vehicle with large industrial dryers. It is important to dry your vehicle to facilitate the infiltration of our rust proofing product.

Can I get my car rustproofed during rainy days?
Yes. Large industrial dryers allow us to completely dry your vehicle. It is important to dry your vehicle to facilitate the infiltration of our rustproofing product.

Can rain remove your rustproofing product?
No. Our rustproofing product is strongly bound to the metal and does not mix with water. Thus, it creates a screen to water and moisture. Just try to wash your hands dirty oil with water, it does not leave, even rubbing, you need soap.

Vehicle washing

Will my vehicle be washed after applying the rust?
Yes, your vehicle will be completely washed by hand.

How long should I wait before washing my car?
You can wash your car whenever you want.

Do I have to wash my vehicle before my appointment?
It is not necessary. On the other hand, it is advisable to clean the underside and fenders of your vehicle, if it is unusually dirty (thick layer of mud, etc.).

Can a car wash compromise my rust protection?
No. You can wash your car in a car wash at any time.

Antirouille

Antirouille Métropolitain - Notre produit

Notre Produit

Efficace, éprouvé et sans égouttement

Notre produit est enrichi d’ingrédients anticorrosion et ne s’égoutte pas après le traitement. Il forme un gel protecteur en créant une barrière contre l’humidité à l’origine du développement de la rouille. Il pénètre dans les plus minuscules endroits du métal, pour une protection complète et durable. Depuis 1976, notre produit a fait l’objet d’études qui l’ont rendu encore meilleur.

 

Les avantages

  • Sans égouttement
  • Efficace, adhérent, propre et garanti
  • Neutralise l’effet corrosif des polluants atmosphériques
  • Protège tous les véhicules, qu’ils soient neufs ou usagés
  • S’infiltre dans les plis, recoins, fissures et défauts des tôles et du châssis
  • S’applique en tout temps et en toute saison, pour la même efficacité éprouvée
  • Empêche la rouille existante de s’étendre et la nouvelle rouille de se former

Technique d’application

 

Une expertise unique au Québec

Afin d’assurer une protection optimale, un traitement antirouille à chaque année est primordial. De plus, la qualité d’application du traitement est aussi importante que le produit. Il s’agit de traiter toutes les parties qui doivent l’être, et ce, à l’aide des meilleurs outils et techniques. Après plusieurs années d’expérience, nous avons développé une solide expertise en techniques d’application. Ceci grâce à quelque 200 employés qui partagent leur expérience et intelligence par le biais du département des opérations. Ce même département travaille à optimiser les méthodes d’application selon les spécificités de chaque véhicule. Il en résulte des outils avant-gardistes tels qu’un «Manuel de perçage» qui définit pour chaque marque, modèle et année de véhicule, les endroits stratégiques de perçage pour introduire le produit de manière efficace.

Étapes de traitement

Le temps d'application du produit antirouille varie entre 35 et 45 minutes. En période de haute production, ce temps peut être diminué en fonction du nombre d’employés qui travaillent en même temps sur votre véhicule. L’hiver, c’est environ une heure afin de nous permettre de bien déglacer et  sécher votre véhicule.

PRÉPARATION SÉCHAGE ET/OU DÉGLAÇAGE APPLICATION LAVAGE REMISE
         
Une inspection visuelle du véhicule est effectuée et des points d’accès sont créés. Nous apposons une vignette de l’année en cours certifiant que le véhicule est protégé. En cas de pluie ou de neige, de gros séchoirs industriels de conception unique nous permettent de sécher le véhicule afin de faciliter l’infiltration du produit. Des lances à pression spécialement adaptées sont utilisées pour appliquer notre produit de façon uniforme et atteindre les endroits difficilement accessibles. L’extérieur du véhicule est lavé à la main. Après une brève vérification du véhicule, quelques avertissements et recommandations vous sont prodigués avant votre départ.

Étapes de traitement

PRÉPARATION

Une inspection visuelle du véhicule est effectuée et des points d’accès sont créés. Nous apposons une vignette de l’année en cours certifiant que le véhicule est protégé.

 

SÉCHAGE ET/OU DÉGLAÇAGE

En cas de pluie ou de neige, de gros séchoirs industriels de conception unique nous permettent de sécher le véhicule afin de faciliter l’infiltration du produit.

 

APPLICATION

Des lances à pression spécialement adaptées sont utilisées pour appliquer notre produit de façon uniforme et atteindre les endroits difficilement accessibles.

 

LAVAGE

L’extérieur du véhicule est lavé à la main.

 

REMISE

Après une brève vérification du véhicule, quelques avertissements et recommandations vous sont prodigués avant votre départ.

 

Perçage

 

Pourquoi ?

Nos techniciens percent des points d’accès (chacun mesurant 1/2 pouce de diamètre) à des endroits stratégiques (bas de portes, bas de caisse et ailes arrière), seulement lors du premier traitement. Ces points d’accès nous permettent d’introduire le produit aux endroits inaccessibles. Ainsi, nous empêchons la rouille de se développer sur des parties fermées. Après le traitement, chaque point d’accès est enduit de notre protection antirouille, puis recouvert d’un capuchon noir.

POINTS DE TRAITEMENT

  1. Ailes et fausses ailes avant et arrière
  2. Dessous du véhicule au complet
  3. Pare-chocs avant et arrière
  4. Trappe à essence (s'il y a lieu)
  5. Toutes les charnières
  6. Intérieur des bas de portes
  7. Bas de caisse
  8. Couvercle de la malle arrière
  9. Capot
  10. Compartiment moteur
Antirouille Métropolitain - Points de traitements
Antirouille Métropolitain - Accident

Vous avez eu un accident ?

Si vous avez un accident avec votre véhicule dans l’année qui suit votre traitement, nous retraiterons les parties endommagées sans frais.

Recommandations et avertissements

 
RECOMMANDATIONS AVERTISSEMENTS
Il est important de cirer votre véhicule une à deux fois par année et de le laver régulièrement. Protégez votre véhicule à chaque année et faites les retouches de peinture. En hiver, déglacez le contour des ailes et surveillez le joint entre l’aileron et le couvert de la malle arrière. La vibration de l’aileron peut causer l’écaillage de la peinture et la corrosion. Effectuez les retouches et installer un joint d’étanchéité. Les pneus peuvent être glissants pour quelques kilomètres. Pour une courte période, une légère fumée et une odeur d’huile chauffée peuvent se dégager du système d’échappement. Si vous devez ouvrir le couvercle de la malle arrière ou le capot, méfiez-vous, un surplus de produit pourrait être présent

Questions fréquentes

LA ROUILLE c'est quoi ?

Comment se forme la rouille ?
Pour que de la rouille se forme, trois éléments sont nécessaires : le fer contenu dans le métal, l’eau et l’oxygène de l’air. L’acier ne rouille pas quand l’air est sec. Si l’eau disparaît rapidement de l’acier, la rouille n’a pas le temps de naître. Mais si le métal retient de l’humidité, il rouillera. De plus, lorsqu’il subit des stress physiques, comme des brusques changements de température, des vibrations, etc., ceux-ci peuvent créer des zones vulnérables, où le fer est plus susceptible de rouiller.

La rouille est-elle toujours visible?
Non. Elle naît d’abord sous une forme microscopique, invisible à l’œil nu. De plus, il ne faut pas oublier tous les endroits cachés de votre auto, où la rouille peut se développer à votre insu : intérieur des portières et du capot, ailes arrière, châssis et montants et bas de caisse. Il est donc important de faire traiter votre véhicule une fois par an, pour empêcher toute rouille de se développer.

Quels sont les principaux facteurs de rouille ?
Il existe des éléments qui peuvent accélérer le développement de la rouille :

  • Le sel et le calcium qui augmentent la conductivité de l’eau;
  • La pollution de l’air et les pluies acides, très corrosives. Ainsi, notre air contient beaucoup plus de gaz comme le dioxyde de souffre et l’oxyde d’azote qu’il y a 50 ans. C’est pourquoi nos véhicules rouillent davantage que ceux de nos grands-parents.
  • Les brusques changements de température et notamment lorsque le temps frais ou froid devient chaud et humide. En effet, la chaleur dilate le métal, ce qui permet alors à l’humidité ambiante ou projetée de s’incruster plus facilement dans les «pores» de l’acier. Aussi, et contrairement à une croyance répandue, le métal rouille par temps chaud, et non l’hiver. Cependant, l’hiver prépare le terrain à la formation de la corrosion des véhicules, par la neige, la boue, le sel et le calcium, et spécialement quand ces matières sont violemment projetées par les roues sous les véhicules.

Comment et à quels endroits la rouille peut attaquer mon véhicule ?

  • L’assemblage d’un véhicule favorise la formation de rouille. Lors du montage, les pièces d’un véhicule ne subissent pas moins de 1500 plis et points de rivetage. Or, de telles actions abîment à ces endroits l’antirouille d’origine et y favorisent la formation de rouille. De plus, pour offrir leurs véhicules à moindre coût, des fabricants utilisent souvent des alliages moins chers, plus légers, mais aussi plus vulnérables à la rouille.
  • Un véhicule contient beaucoup de coins fermés… où l’humidité parvient quand même à s’installer! C’est le cas, par exemple, de l’intérieur des portières ou du capot, où de l’eau peut se retrouver emprisonnée sans pouvoir s’évaporer. Heureusement, Antirouille Métropolitain protège ces endroits sensibles et tous les autres, comme les ailes arrière, les portes et les bas de caisse.
  • Pendant l’hiver, le dessous des véhicules subit des attaques fréquentes et violentes, à cause du sable, du sel et du calcium projetés par les roues. En plus d’accélérer la rouille, ces matières peuvent ainsi abîmer les meilleurs antirouilles, même le nôtre. Voilà pourquoi, sous notre climat, il est important de faire traiter votre véhicule une fois par année.
TRAITEMENT ANTIROUILLE

Pourquoi protéger mon véhicule contre la rouille à tous les ans ?
Notre climat difficile fait que la plupart des protections antirouille perdent de leur efficacité après un an. Les écarts de température ainsi que l’abrasion due au sel, au sable et à la poussière vont graduellement faire disparaître le produit antirouille et laisser certaines parties du véhicule sans protection.

Dois-je protéger mon véhicule neuf contre la rouille ?
Oui, le plus tôt possible. De cette façon le processus de corrosion n’aura aucune chance de commencer.

J’ai un véhicule usagé. Est-il nécessaire de le protéger contre la rouille ?
Oui, le plus tôt possible. Même si votre véhicule est un peu rouillé, notre traitement antirouille stabilise la rouille déjà existante et ralentit fortement sa progression.

Le traitement antirouille Métropolitain est-il garanti ?
Oui, des garanties sans frais sont disponibles pour véhicules neufs et pour véhicules usagés. La garantie pour véhicules usagés est offerte seulement si votre véhicule est en bon état, ayant moins de trois ans et moins de 60 000 kilomètres. Un de nos experts procédera à la vérification de votre véhicule avant d’accorder la garantie.

Le traitement antirouille peut-il éliminer la rouille existante ?
Notre produit antirouille ne peut pas éliminer la rouille existante, mais il peut ralentir sa progression et empêcher la nouvelle rouille de se former.

Comment s’effectue le traitement antirouille ?
Voir la section «Notre traitement en quelques étapes».

Pourquoi vous percez des trous et peuvent-ils rouiller ?
Voir la section «Le perçage» dans notre site web.

En succursale, combien de temps pour l’application du produit antirouille ?
En général c’est entre 35 et 45 minutes. En période de haute production, le temps d’application du produit peut être diminué en fonction du nombre d’employés qui travaillent en même temps sur votre véhicule. L’hiver, c’est environ une heure afin de nous permettre de bien déglacer et  sécher votre véhicule.

Est-ce que je peux rouler sur des chemins de sable après un traitement antirouille ?
Non, évitez alors ces chemins au moins 24 à 48h. La terre, le sable et la poussière vont créer une croûte à certains endroits et absorber le produit, ce qui en réduira l’efficacité.

Votre traitement antirouille est-il compatible avec mon véhicule hybride ou électrique ?
Oui, nous protégeons de nombreux véhicules électriques ou hybrides contre la rouille annuellement et il n’y a pas de contre-indication concernant notre produit antirouille avec ces types de véhicules.

Mon véhicule a été peinturé ou a eu des retouches de peinture, dois-je attendre avant d’effectuer mon traitement antirouille ?
Oui, si vous avez récemment fait peinturer ou fait faire des retouches sur votre véhicule, il faut attendre au moins une semaine avant de faire traiter votre véhicule à l’antirouille.

TEMPÉRATURE

Quel est le meilleur temps pour protéger mon véhicule contre la rouille ?
En tout temps. Le traitement est efficace pour un an.

Puis-je protéger mon véhicule contre la rouille en hiver ?
Oui. Nous procédons d’abord à un rinçage à haute pression pour déglacer votre véhicule. Ensuite, de gros séchoirs industriels de conception unique nous permettent de sécher votre véhicule. Il est important de sécher votre véhicule afin de faciliter l'infiltration de notre produit antirouille.

Puis-je protéger mon véhicule contre la rouille les jours de pluie ?
Oui. De gros séchoirs industriels de conception unique nous permettent de sécher votre véhicule. Il est important de sécher votre véhicule afin de faciliter l'infiltration de notre produit antirouille.

La pluie peut-elle enlever votre produit antirouille ?
Non. Notre produit antirouille est fortement lié au métal et ne se mélange pas à l’eau. Ainsi, il crée un écran à l’eau et à l’humidité. Vous n’avez qu’à essayer de laver vos mains souillées d’huile à l’aide d’eau, ça ne part pas, même en frottant, il faut du savon.

Lavage du véhicule

Est-ce que mon véhicule sera lavé après l’application du produit antirouille ?
Oui, votre véhicule est lavé entièrement à la main.

Combien de temps dois-je attendre avant de laver mon véhicule ?
Vous pouvez laver votre véhicule quand vous voulez.

Est-ce que je dois laver mon véhicule avant mon rendez-vous ?
Ce n’est pas nécessaire. Par contre, il est conseillé de nettoyer le dessous et les ailes de votre véhicule dans le cas où ce dernier est anormalement sale (épaisse couche de boue séchée, etc.).

Est-ce qu’un lavage dans un lave-auto nuit à ma protection antirouille ?
Non. Vous pouvez laver votre véhicule dans un lave-auto en tout temps.